Definition of “indigenous”

Primeiro, é muito mais facíl para mim escrever em inglês.  Se haver alguma coisa que precisa tradução, me pergunte e vou tentar esclarecer em português.  I am currently working on a paper about the lack of a definition of “indigenous” in the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (DRIP) approved in September 2007.  Andre’s post made me think about quilombos as a form of indigeneity.  As I read articles about the variety of possible meanings of the notion of indigenous peoples, it seems like an argument could be made that the UN Declaration could be applicable to remanescente communities.   To read the text of the Declaration, see http://www.un.org/esa/socdev/unpfii/en/drip.html with information in Spanish at http://www.iwgia.org/sw390.asp.  And in portuguese at http://www.ictindigenousportal.org/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=68&func=showdown&id=2&lang=brazilian_portuguese.

I know that we often think of Indians and quilombolas as separate, yet comparable, what if an appeal were made to the UN notion of indigeneity on behalf of remanescentes?

2 respostas em “Definition of “indigenous”

    • É melhor para mim escrever em português. De qualquer forma, estou trabalhando com a falta duma definição de “indígena” na nova Declaração dos Direitos dos Povos Indigénas das Nações Unidas. Estava pensando no enlargamento do sentido da palavra, principalmente nos outros países (na África, por exemplo). Zé Maurício me lembrou o decreto de 2007 (ver o posting dele e meu resposta). Espero que esta resposta ajuda um poco. Vou tentar escrever em português mais voces tem que ficar paciente comigo e meus erros gramáticos.

Deixe um comentário

